By Lisa Rowlands

Notable for its silky smooth red wines, the German speaking region accounts for nearly one fifth of the nation’s vine and is perhaps best considered as three geographical sub-zones:- Basel and Aargau in the west of the country, the central belt comprising - amongst others - the cantons of Schaffhausen, Thurgau and Zürich, and the renowned eastern provinces of Graubünden and St. Gallen. There is also a smattering of small parcels along the banks of Lake Thun in the Bernese Oberland, around Oberhofen and the beautiful fortified town of Spiez.

Mirroring the national picture, red varieties dominate production across this region with nearly 75% of the area under vine given over to these grapes. Pinot Noir - known locally as Blauburgunder, has plantings of more than one-thousand hectares whilst much smaller areas of Regent and Cabernet Jura can be found around the municipality of Zürich and in the western cantons.

Covering one quarter of the vineyard area and accounting for around a third of production, white grape varieties across the German Speaking region are markedly different from those found in other areas. Whilst the regions of Lac Léman (Vaud and Geneva) are dominated by the Chasselas grape and the Valais is famed for its cultivation of rare indigenous varieties, in the sub-zones of German Speaking Switzerland Müller-Thurgau (usually referred to as Riesling-Sylvaner) reigns supreme. Other white grapes represented here include (in order of their respective areas under vine) - Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Gris and the old German variety, Raüschling.

Appellations of German Switzerland

Graubünden AOC

Graubünden AOC is a Swiss wine appellation covering the geographical region from which it takes its name. With a landscape dominated by the Pinot Noir grape, the appellation is responsible for some of Switzerland’s most acclaimed wines from this variety.

Read more ▸ 2 producers8 wines

Schaffhausen AOC

Known as ‘Blauburgunderland’, the canton of Schaffhausen in north-eastern Switzerland is renowned for its dedication to the cultivation of noble red grape, Pinot Noir.

Read more ▸

St Gallen AOC

St. Gallen AOC is a Swiss wine appellation that covers the canton from which it takes its name. Situated in the north-east of the country between Lake Constance and the Appenzell Alps, the vineyards of St. Gallen comprise mostly of the Pinot Noir and Müller-Thurgau varieties.

Read more ▸ 1 producer1 wine

Aargau AOC

Aargau AOC is a Swiss wine appellation in the north-west of the country.  With three-hundred-and-eighty hectares under vine, the canton of Aargau is the fourth largest wine producing area within the German Speaking region, producing principally red wines from the Pinot Noir grape.

Read more ▸