Sub-zones of Burgundy


Just south of the traditional Burgundy growing area is Beaujolais, a large vine growing area responsible for red wines from the Gamay variety. There are ten cru village appellations as well as the standard Beaujolais and Beaujolais villages appellations.

Read more ▸ 11 Appellations13 producers18 wines


The world famous Chablis area lies somewhat north of Burgundy but is still generall akcnowledged as one of the region’s sub zones. Made with Chardonnay it covers the main Chablis as well as the expanded Petit Chablis.

Read more ▸ 2 Appellations23 producers54 wines

Côte de Beaune

The Côte de Beaune is home to some of the world’s most recognised wines, notably Chardonnay from the Chassagne-Montrachet and Meursault, and Pinot Noir from Pommard and Volnay.

Read more ▸ 16 Appellations37 producers89 wines